Categories: Health and Wellness

What is Ashtanga yoga top poses and benefit’s…?

Ashtanga Yoga

What is ashtanga yoga

Ashtanga Yoga is a system of Yoga recorded by the sagacious Vamana Rishi in the Yoga Korunta, a very old manuscript which was said to contain lists of many different groupings of asanas, as well as highly original teachings on vinyasa, mudras, Drishti, bandhas, and philosophy.

Over the years, the most important things associated with Ashtanga yoga are vinyasa and tristhana. These two are needed to perform asanas of Ashtanga Yoga correctly.

Vinyasa means breathing and movement system. While Tristhana refers to the union of three places of action or attention: breathing system, posture, and looking place.

What is ashtanga yoga eight-limbs …?

Ashtanga Yoga: An eight-limbs Yoga

What is ashtanga yoga

Literally, Ashtanga yoga means “eight-limbs yoga” as outlined by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras.

Normally, the path of internal cleansing for enlightening the Universal Self consists of eight spiritual practices which are:

  • Yama, the moral codes.
  • Niyama, self-purification, and study.
  • Asana, the posture.
  • Pranayama, breath control.
  • Pratyahara, the sense control.
  • Dharana, the concentration.
  • Dhyana, the meditation.
  • Samadhi, the contemplation.

Read this article: Iyengar yoga New York City

What is Ashtanga Yoga Poses...?

What is ashtanga yoga

The basis of Ashtanga yoga is a series of twelve sequential poses beginning with a group called the sun salutation or Surya Namaskar which is performed in a single, graceful flow. Hence, the movements are initiated internally at the core of the body, rather than in the outer muscle.

As you move from one asana (pose or position) to another, your body generates an intense internal heat that purifies organs and muscles and expels unwanted toxins of the body through a strong, cleansing sweat.

Likely, the forceful flow of moving meditation was linked together with a breathing technique called vinyasa.

V means “to go” and trust means “placement” so the word describes the method of entering and exiting the asana.

Asanas of Ashtanga Yoga are grouped into six series; each series release a particular aspect of the body and the mind.

The primary series, the Yoga Chikitsa is designed to detoxify and align the body.

While the second most significant series, Nadi Shodhana strengthens the nervous system and opens the energy channels that link the seven chakras, while the Advanced Series, Sthira Bhaga combines all strength and grace to attain marvelous firmness.

Purpose of Ashtanga Yoga

The most significant purpose of Ashtanga Yoga is for internal cleansing. The locks are internal energy gates that help in normalizing the energy flow.

Using engaging specific locks within the body, energy is directed and internal heat created.

Likely, there is a breathing technique used to also aid in this creation of heat.

The breath is what gives power to the actions in Ashtanga and one can abide by that breath throughout the entire practice.

What is Ashtanga Yoga Benefits...?

Ashtanga Yoga certainly:

  • Reduces stress
  • Increases flexibility and muscle tone
  • Provides a strong cardiovascular workout
  • Builds strength
  • Increases lung capacity for better breathing
  • Builds endurance
  • Offers an opportunity for advancing the practice
  • Builds inner heat for
  • purification and detoxification
  • Develops mental focus

This post was last modified on August 1, 2020